Challenge Week 5: A Memory

 

20140410-232737.jpg

For five years, Hello Kitty was one of my most prized possessions. Everyday I used to wake up with it smiling at me, bringing happiness to my heart. I brought it everywhere—in the car, on my bed, around my house. When I was 3, my eyes saw the Hello Kitty sitting in a birthday bag for the first time. My little girly self dove for the bag and snatched the pink kitty out. I was so excited, to play with it, to have a new best friend, to sleep with it at night.

Over time, my Hello Kitty got worn out. However, I didn’t care. I still carried it all over the place—with its ears ripped, cloth filthy, and no nose. One day, my mom tried to convince me to give my Hello Kitty to her so she could fix it up, but of course, I didn’t let her. I threw a temper tantrum for days, but finally my mom got it fixed up.

No one bothered me after that, but as time went by, I got older. It was now me protecting it, rather than it protecting me. I began leaving it on my bed, only to play with when I went to sleep. I still love how it makes me joyful and excited every time I see it at nightit never gets old. My Hello Kitty still sits sturdy on my bed, providing me company when I need it.

4 thoughts on “Challenge Week 5: A Memory

  1. Your Hello Kitty toy reminds me a lot of my own childhood. I would always carry around a stuffed rabbit that I received from my cousin. Great writing!

  2. I’m glad you still have that Hello Kitty. Do you collect other merchandise with that logo on it? Hello Kitty is everywhere!

    My father has lived in Japan for decades, and he used to send Hello Kitty clothing to my girls when they were young. They adored getting those packages from him, knowing there were Hello Kitty items inside.

  3. I’ve seen that Hello Kitty. It’s puffy and big. Nice wording. It’s very interesting that you have such a cool toy. I don’t see many people these days having any Hello Kitty things.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *