Oh, no

My heart pounds as I hear, “Next onstage, number 7486, Black Roses Red.”

I am pushed onstage before I forget and pull out a wide grin on my face before the almost-too-familiar music plays. Without even having to think, I start dancing. I’m drifting, gliding, and rushing all over the stage, feeling too confident in myself.

Then, before I know it, I trip over my toe…and fall.

I pull myself back together and just stand for a second, breaking my connection with the music and forgetting what to do next. My brain races, but it won’t answer me. How could this have happened?!? I force my stubborn body to start moving again— oh, thank god! It may not be perfect, but I’m just glad I’m not standing there like a freak staring at the audience with a blank face.

The dance ends, and I run offstage immediately after my halfway nod to the judges. I’m doomed. My teacher and parents try and reassure me, but of course, it doesn’t help. I hear the voice of my mom saying, “Well, there’s always next time!” as I get changed and wait for the awards ceremony.

2 thoughts on “Oh, no

  1. “Then, before I know it, I trip over my toe…and fall.”

    The above sentence is perfectly punctuated! Love the effect of the ellipsis and the italicized word “fall” (which I can’t duplicate here in the comments very easily.

    Very well written post!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *